HETTYPreschoolHoole, Chester

Phone us   Email us Hand-drawn children
Back to 'What we do'

What we teach

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered at HETTY helps children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.

For children between the ages of two and four years, we at HETTY follow the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum called Development Matters which is published by the Department for Education.

Development Matters divides children’s learning and development into seven areas as mentioned below:

  • Communication and Language (CAL)
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World (UW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

Development Matters overview with breakdown of 7 areas

Within each area there are early learning goals. These goals state what it is expected that children will know and be able to do by the end of the reception year of their education.

For each early learning goal, there are ‘stepping stones’, which describe the stages through which children are likely to pass as they move to achievement of the goal.  HETTY uses the stepping stones that lead to the early learning goals to help us to trace each child’s progress and to enable us to provide the right activities to help all of the children to achieve and progress.